Monday, May 24, 2010

Monday Blues..

Whenever Monday comes, the ED (Emergency Department), will be flocked by thousands of sick, pretended to be sick & non-emergency sickness patients.

Most of them asking for MC ( medical certificate ) so that they can escape work. Yeah, Lots of lazy people out there! Just simple sprain at the toe, where his job only requires to sit in the office, wants MC for at least 3 days. Immediately the doctor's face will be as long as a papaya!


When that happens, patient load is already rising with these jerks, complaints will flood the department and subsequently to the director of the hospital.
Well, they think that the complaint department and director are going to take any action for these non reasonable complaint. Therefor, harmless.

Now, here comes some people with political power that also abuse the system. We have to give them way- let them jump queue, specialist and Director of the hospital have to know about their arrival and progress. And, Houseman are not supposed to touch them!

The whole healthcare system is actually a mess. The public does not understands it.
I don't understand either!

Recently, saw a parent who actually the daughter had a tiny 3mm scratch on the face with clotted blood. Barged in and complaint about the waiting time of 2 hours before being seen by a doctor. And the doctor explained that lack of doctors in Malaysia and reassured that this wound of his daughter does not require any stitches, nor gluestitch, he got even furious claiming that elsewhere would have this gluestitched and causing less scarring.
The Doctor patiently listened to his whining and told him that, the most we can give is painkiller ( while the child was happily playing, running around in the examining room !not in pain at all!)

Finally with his ego, he claimed that he does not need any medication from us and stomped out complaining it is a waste of time coming here. Funny customer!

For the reason of this, doctors now are even stricter on MCs and treatment so that abuse of the system can be minimized. For politicians,speak no evil, hear no evil, see no evil! What can i say?

Sunday, May 9, 2010

Becoming a Doctor

Wohoo! SPM, STPM are over!!

Now what is the next step? Medicine? Dentistry? Pharmacy? These are the highly reputable courses that one would always think of, or forced by parents at least. Haha!

There are no real exposure to the true occupational life as undergraduates just apply for it based on their excellent good results. though most colleges will have interview before admission to the courses, but that does not mean that they have fully understood the career that they want.

Now lets talk about medicine, with the title doctor, everyone around you are so proud of you. But trust me, you are probably not proud of yourself. Why?

When the Public service department gave most of the JPA scholar for an exposure in the hospitals. Still most of them, are keen on medicine. Because they have only spoken to Specialist or head of department who are always encouraging of their profession, and hence most likely they will not inform the downside of becoming a doctor.

Until they have met one of the suffering Houseman, who has joined for a year plus and almost understands fully of the whole medical system and life as a doctor. Most of them realized the misconception, and they have turned away from this profession.

These are the reasons:
1) earning lots, especially by 35 years of age, can become billionaire!!
-The truth is, you can earn only when you are specialist or a successful private General practitioner (GP). JPA scholars turned away after hearing this:
-> to become a specialist, the fastest you can become probably around 32--36. By the time you earn it, you are probably around 40++!
-> To become GP, completion of compulsory service is necessary, 4 years ( including housemanship) of compulsory service which leads to the age of around 30-32, and before opening a clinic, all your savings will be drain out to set up a GP clinic!

2)Good life?
- quite good if you are bachelor forever, loves to stay and hang out in the hospital.
- most of our specialist, married late or still an available bachelor. Knowing the fact that elderly primi(1st pregnancy in old age), especially >35 years of age, there will be increase incidents of Down syndromes or mental retarded child.
- there no quality time with family at all.

3) medical education in private itself, will cause you bucks!! before you could earn, you have already loss all the money- current price is around RM 300,000++. ( unless you got a place in local university)

there are more, I am sure most of you out there already knew. But if any queries, please do not hesitate to have Q and A with me.

Therefore, think twice. Unless you are willing to go all the way for it, give a try and sacrifice with passion, i will encourage too. But decide wisely and there will be no turning back.


All staffs are awaiting the arrival of emergency patient, fun colleagues though.